T is for Tea

Tea is magic. There is no question.

A cup of tea is able to both wake you up and relax you. Not only that, it comes in so many different varieties and can be served in many different ways.

So how do you have your tea? Do you have black tea, white tea, English breakfast, Irish breakfast, with vanilla, a fruit blend, a chai blend? Do you have milk, cream, sugar, honey? I take mine completely “as is”—tea leaves brewed in water.

I was first introduced to tea when I was five or six years old. In retrospect, I suppose I started very young, though at the time I just wanted to be like my grandfather. He used to have afternoon tea and a biscuit after his nap at 2pm every day without fail. So, when I was there, I would join him. It soon became my favourite part of my day when I visited my grandparents.

At that time, I only drank black tea and I took it with milk and two sugars—the same way my pop did. I couldn’t drink tea any other way.

As I grew up, I still only drank one cup a day (at most). Sometimes I would go weeks without a cup. I think that might be because I felt that it wasn’t normal for a person my age to drink tea. Somewhere along the way, my tooth became less sweet and I dropped the sugar from the way I brewed my perfect cup.

With university came a full-blown obsession with tea. Instead of my cup a day, it became six cups a day in a large soup mug. So instead of drinking about 350mL of tea, I started drinking about 3.5L a day.

I branched out at this time, too, and started trying new blends.

My current tea stash contains:

  • Plain black
  • Decaffeinated black
  • Irish Breakfast
  • London Breakfast
  • Chocolate Meringue
  • Creme Brulee
  • Turkish Apple
  • Raspberry, Strawberry and Loganberry
  • Lemon
  • Blueberry, Elderflower and white
  • Peach and Mango
  • Cinnamon
  • Raspberry and Dragonfruit

All of them are delicious and I love having the variety. Usually, I just end up drinking plain, black, caffeinated tea, despite having the choice to change it up with every cup. It actually took a lot of convincing for me to buy decaf. It’s like buying non-alcoholic wine (sorry to all those out there that drink non-alcoholic wine).

There are two YouTube videos that I have seen recently (seen here and here) that I relate to on many levels and that relate to this weeks topic of tea.

The first is from Charlie McDonnell, or charlieissocoollike, his passion for tea in this video is like the excitement of a six-year-old finding out they have won a year’s supply of their favourite sweet. Honestly, if I got to experience making my own blend of tea like he did, I would probably be the same if not worse.

Then the second is from Carrie Hope Fletcher, or itswaypastmybedtime (I KNOW, I AM SORRY! CARRIE IS ONE OF MY FAVOURITE YOUTUBERS, OKAY?). This video is the sixth in her ‘Letters to Autumn’ series. She talks about the healing powers of tea and the way that we turn to tea for guidance (in a way). All of her claims and assertions in this video are 100% true, in my eyes.

So, go boil the kettle. Brew a cup. Sit on the sofa. Click on the links above and enjoy the love that a nice hot cup of tea can give you on a stressful day. Go on. Do it. I dare you.

Tea

How quickly does a kettle wear out if you use it constantly?

How much would it hurt if I glued a mug to my palm?

Both of these are important questions.

Each morning, bleary-eyed and bed-headed, I make my way across freezing tiles to the kettle that stands alone on the bench top.

I watch as the colour bleeds from the teabag and seeps through the entire contents of the mug. It’s mesmerising.

This morning, the rain is pelting against the kitchen window, creating a blanket that distorts the scenary on the other side. My mood darkens with the brewing tea.

Bag in the bin, I make my way to the kitchen table where I stare into space as I sip. I burn my mouth. I am too impatient. I need tea.

I tip the last few millilitres of my tea in the sink. They were a little cold.

The rain has stopped now.

Putting my clean mug in the drying rack on the side of the sink, I smile.

Tea.

Leave a Reply

