W is for Wishes

“A dream is a wish your heart makes,” Disney’s Cinderella once said. There is something quite sweet about that notion.
Whether we care to admit it or not, every single person has at least one wish that they want, with all their heart, to come true.

When our wishes have no possibility of coming true, it hurts beyond compare. It’s feels like the world is denying you happiness. But because of the impossibility (and I mean definite impossibility) of your wish coming true, we just have to come to terms with it.

I believe that wishing, and being able to wish, is good for you. I believe that it indicates a desire for progress and looking ahead. It means that you still have hope for a better future, despite how hopeless you may feel.

Wishing. It’s not just upon a star. It’s constant.
So what do you wish for? I know what I want. Do you?

For as long as remember, people have told me that I have had my head in the clouds – that I always dreamed of a life virtually unachievable. I don’t necessarily see this as a bad thing. Of course, it’s probably not a wonderful thing to constantly live in a world of fictional ideals, but you DO need to have something to work toward. You DO need to have goals.

When you achieve each wish, you make more ones. It’s that’s simple. It’s human nature. We want what we can’t have. We are never truly satisfied with life and are always striving for the next big thing.

I have heard this from many different people; “I always thought that [insert wish here] would make me happy, but I have found that I want more..” Though it makes me sad that their dreams weren’t as fulfilling as they had originally thought they would be, I was excited that they were still looking for progress once their goals were achieved. That’s an important aspect of life, I feel.

So make wishes, both small and big. Place them in your heart and work toward them, because one day you just might get there.

To the First of Many
Look how far I have come. I mean, just a few years ago I was sitting on, not a goldmine but, a steaming, soggy heap of dung – at least, that’s how I saw it.

I was going no where so quickly, that life was becoming a blur of suckishness that I could see no earthly way out of.

But one night I sat on a hill under the stars. The wind froze every layer of skin I had right down to the center of my bones. But I stayed. This is where I made the first wish.

It was small – or perhaps large, but simple. It was “leave this town behind”. It was a big step, but something I never regret.

That was my first wish, and a succession soon followed.

Now I am here. Where I wanted to be from the moment that first one was formed, and now I have a completely new set that sparkles with possibility.

Who said that wishes don’t come true? Whoever you are, I hope that I never become as misguided as you.

Leave a Reply

