The Girl

 

Author Note: Hi, guys! I thought I would post something solely fictional instead of a half-half thing like I usually do. Be on the look out for someone you might know… Dun dun duuuuuun!

 

They say there are only half a dozen moments that you remember vividly over the course of a lifetime. Six moments that stick with you in their entirety.

How can we tell that a moment is one of those half dozen? How can we change of alter a moment so that it becomes one of those half dozen? Is that even possible?

I knew this moment would be one of those half dozen as soon as it began the door opened and a little LED was triggered in my brain.

I was sitting on a very uncomfortable oak bar stool at the bar of the Lion’s Head Tavern.

I had a neat whiskey in my glass and Clive, the bar tender, was making a point of avoiding the fact that I was sitting in front of him for the tenth night in a row.

At this stage of the night, I had had…about…3 or 4 drinks…nothing too serious. No fuzzy edges, no accentuated features – just a slight buzz…sort of.

As I lifted the glass to my lips, the door opened – creating a gateway to the bustling street outside.

Everyone outside was on their way home from work, or on their way out to forget about their day of work.

Yes, the person who walked through that door was only a girl. What? Were you expecting me to say she was the most beautiful woman I had ever seen – that she made me lose all ability to breathe – that I made a fool of myself because I couldn’t concentrate on anything but her? I’m sorry, no.

She was beautiful, and her hair glistened with the light coating of drizzle she acquired outside.

She held my attention for the few seconds it took for her to take off her coat and begin the short walk to the table where a group of her friends were sitting.

‘Can I get you another?’ Clive broke my reverie.

‘Give me a Vodka Orange, please, Clive.’

‘Coming up.’

That day was the first day I had seen her there. She flicked her hair over her shoulder every time she laughed which was quite a lot.

She had eyes that were deep hazel – matching her rich brown hair beautifully.

Are you thinking how I can remember so much about “just a girl”? A lot of people would describe her differently, but She is was, just that – a girl.

‘Is that who I think it is?’ Clive, yet again, broke my reverie.

‘Who?’

He pointed at the girl.

‘What brings her to my little Lion’s Head?’

‘Must be wanting a holiday?’ I took the last gulp of my large vodka orange.

‘Get away from that youngster the girls fawn over?’ Clive participated in my musing.

‘Maybe she’s quitting?’

‘Nah, mate. Don’t think anyone would let her.’

‘Since when did you become her aficionado?’

‘Shut up and pour me another.’

Clive spun on his heel to retrieve the vodka bottle. I watched him pour in autopilot and didn’t notice her approach the bar.

‘Excuse me,’ her American accent ricocheted off the bar.

At least half a dozen people stopped and turned to look at her – aside from her, what the media now call, “squad”.

‘Could I get a martini?’

‘Sure can, miss.’ Clive dropped my drink and began preparing hers.

‘Oh, please finish this gentleman’s drink first.’

‘Oh, that’s Jimmy Wilson. He doesn’t matter.’ Clive have me a smart ass grin, ‘Unlike you Ms Gomez.’

‘Oh no,’ she went quite red, ‘No, I’m just a girl.’

 

Author’s (second) Note: To all those who are Selena fans, I am sorry if I got things wrong about her. To Selena, I’m sorry if this offends you, I didn’t mean it, I just wanted to have a little fun. I honestly hope you enjoyed it 🙂 see you next time!

Leave a Reply

