Dear You

 

Dear Friends and Family,

How are you? I hope you are well and that you are coping with the ups and downs of life ok.

I have a few things that I want to say to you. Don’t worry, I’m not here to tell you that I’m not happy with you. I’m not even here to give you bad news.

I just want to let you know that I appreciate you all.

We don’t stay in contact often, and we don’t see each other often. That doesn’t mean I love you less, that doesn’t mean that you aren’t in my thoughts.

I’ve never been good at small talk. I’ve never been good at maintaining contact. I’ve always been a woman of little words – except when I am writing.

I admire those that do have the knack of staying in contact; it’s such a feat for me.

If you have ever thought that I don’t care or that I hate you because I haven’t talked to you in a while, that’s not the case at all.

I still think of you in the same way. I still think of you as my friend. And appeciate all that you have done for me.

 

If I had a dollar for every time I messaged or called one of you in a flap about a plot hole or an absence of faith in my writing, I would be very rich. Thank you for answering, for talking to me with a level head, for reassuring me. As you can imagine, the career I am attempting to pursue doesn’t come without doubt and uncertainty.

 

Artistry is always bad under scrutiny of the creator’s eyes.

 

I know that being an author is not exactly a reliable 9-5 job – but the thing is, I don’t really care. This is what I want, and I am glad you understand that.

 

It makes my day when you tell me you have read one of my blog posts or have recommended my blog to your friends. It makes me so happy when my view counter goes up or when I get likes and comments. You should see the way my face lights up.

 

So thank you from the bottom of my heart. For all the things you do.

 

Love,

Me.

Leave a Reply

