F is for Fiction…part 2.

The last time I got to F, I wrote the same thing in the heading box: F is for Fiction. It’s like my brain literally cannot process that there are other words in the English language that begin with F.

So … I thought that, instead, of trying to force something that I really don’t want to write about, I would indulge myself and write F is for Fiction … part 2. For part 1, click here.

Since I wrote Part 1, my collection of fiction has tripled … and I don’t think that’s an exaggeration. I have:

  • 101 seasons of TV on DVD
  • 115 movies on DVD
  • Approximately 450 novels (with 5 on their way in the mail)

I have a problem … don’t I?

It’s ridiculous to think of how much money I have spent to build up such a collection … It’s not the easiest thing in the world to move houses with either, believe me.

Since it’s been over 2 years since I wrote part 1, I will update you on my latest fiction-filled loves.

My favourite TV shows:

  1. Supernatural
  2. Outlander

My TV Guilty Pleasure:

  1. Jane the Virgin (I’m actually not feeling guilty at all about liking it)

Favourite movies:

I’m not sure I have one, specifically, but I’ll list a few of my most watched …

  1. Cinderella (1950s Disney animation)
  2. Persuasion (2007 version with Sally Hawkins and Rupert Penry-Jones)
  3. Reality Bites
  4. My Life in Ruins (who doesn’t love a bit of Nia Vardalos)
  5. Pride and Prejudice (the 90s version with Jennifer Ehle and Colin Firth)
  6. Sixteen Candles (I am a sucker for a good 80s teen flick, especially when it was directed and written by John Hughes)
  7. Dirty Dancing

I could go on forever …

Favourite Novel (all time):

  1. Pride and Prejudice almost tied with Persuasion (a super close second) both by Jane Austen

Favourite Novel (recently read):

  1. My Lady Jane by Cynthia Hand, Brodi Ashton and Jodi Meadows (I laughed until I cried)

Favourite book (recently read, not necessarily a novel):

  1. Milk and Honey by Rupi Kaur (the most beautiful collection of poetry I have ever read)

The thing that gets me about fiction is that you are literally holding a world in your hands. Something as simple as a small 12cm diameter disc, or a stack of A5 paper, can be the doorway to someone’s mind, which other minds digest on a global scale and spit out in three categories (enjoyed, hated and … meh).

This enjoyment factor, relies on mood – the mood of the audience member. Maybe it’s just me, but I have to be in the right mood to enjoy a book, otherwise, I will put it straight back down again and pick up another. Sometimes, I’ll give it another go a couple of months later and I’ll love it. It’s all relative.

So I hope you have enjoyed my update on my fiction favourites!

If you have any recommendations for me, let me know with a comment!

xxx

Leave a Reply

