I is for Introspection

Hey! It’s Tuesday and you’re here with me! Welcome back, my friends!

 ***

We all have those days. You know … those days where all you want to do is curl up in bed, with the covers over your head and forget about the outside world.

I have them. You have them. And if you are sitting there shaking your head at me, that’s a downright lie and you should be ashamed of yourself.

It is during these difficult times, we identify and amplify what we see, in ourselves, as human failings. The parts of our character we tear to shreds and set alight like a bonfire. The flames scorch our contentment and dash all our hopes of deliverance from evil. They leave us dejected and miserable.

Wow. That got seriously dark.

But introspection is a fabulous thing. It reminds me that I am not the person my brain convinces me that I am in those moments of darkness.

Saturday, I had a rather large session of introspection whilst on a long drive. It was a moment of clarity.

I have never been one to create an alternative persona just so others will like me. I’ve never felt the need to hide what I am interested in or who I am just because I thought it could potentially be perceived as “uncool”.

Maybe it’s because I thought that it would be a pointless exercise and no one would ever think I was cool … whatever the reason, I have always been the type of person who is who they are and that is that. In saying that, it is only in the last couple of years that I have changed my attitude to being fully proud of who I am and what I am interested in.

I have known people that have been the opposite—that have felt the need to hide who they were, that have created a persona around their “friends” because they thought that their friends would tease them, or even shun them.

For any readers out there that are like that, I want you to know that you shouldn’t feel the need to do that. If there is one thing that I have realised, it’s that if someone makes fun of who you are or what you are interested in, then they aren’t your friends. It’s as simple as that. You may hang out together, and get along quite well, but the reality is, if someone feels the need to put somebody else down, then they aren’t worth your time.

And you might be saying, “but, Sarah, they are only joking!” or “but, Sarah, it doesn’t really matter.” It does matter, and you shouldn’t be spending your valuable time with people that make you feel like you are inferior, dorky, or weird.

When you’re in school, it’s all a popularity game. You try and make yourself as “cool” as possible for fear of being socially shunned for eternity. I’m here to say that it’s not possible.

You’re not going to be socially shunned for eternity. You just need to surround yourself with better people.

Everyone has different interests. That’s called individuality. It’s something that should be nurtured and promoted. It’s what makes you, you. All you have to do is find someone, or a few someones, that accept who you are, and what you’re into.

“Cool” is a relative term—it’s also an idiotic term that should never have existed in the first place. There is no such thing. Everyone and everything is cool in somebody else’s eyes.

Am I making any sense?

Can I come down from my soap box now? I think I’ve preached enough for today.

I just want to finish with this:

If you are feeling down—if you are feeling uncool, or socially outcast—hold on. There is someone out there that thinks you are the most awesome human. You’ll find them. They’re out there. And they are as anxious to meet you as you are to meet them.

Please. Hold on.

Much love.

I’ll see you Saturday xxx

P.S. In the meantime, follow me on socials!

Twitter
Instagram
Facebook

Leave a Reply

