M is for McFly

Welcome to Tuesday. It’s two days post Christmas, and we’ve survived the craziness that comes with the festive season. Now, we prepare for the introduction of a new year and, therefore, promises that we make to ourselves, we have no intention of keeping.

This time of year has me thinking about the things in the world that fuse together to compose my identity. It makes me reflect on who and what has got me to the point I’m at. Of course, there is the obvious friends and family, but what about the music you listen to, the books you’ve read, the art you’ve seen. How has that impacted your identity?

You might be reading this, dismissing this concept, but those who have had their hearts touched by a song, an artist, a book, an author, will get what I am talking about. McFly, British band, have done this for me.

For those of you who have never heard of McFly in your lives, where have you been? They’re a four-piece band who shot to the top of the UK Pop Charts in 2004 with their first album, Room on the Third Floor. Since then, they have released four studio albums, two greatest hits compilations and have had a stint as two thirds of the UK supergroup McBusted.

I’m not sure how I stumbled across them … but I’m glad I did. Their music has helped me so much over the years. It just has this quality that somehow makes me feel better. It reminds me that there is purity in the world, and that people come together and prosper with the assistance of music. It makes me smile, and belt out the lyrics at the highest of volumes.

But it’s not just their music that has formed who I am. In 2012, the members, Tom Fletcher, Danny Jones, Dougie Poynter and Harry Judd, released an autobiography about McFly’s journey called Unsaid Things … Our Story (review here). This book opened my eyes.

It’s easy to view celebrities on pedestals – perfect, flawless, untouchable to life’s detrimentalness. And to be honest, that’s exactly what I had done with these men before I read this book. Their book reminded me that the members of this band are only human. They have illness, they are susceptible to addiction, to depression, to insecurities, nervousness, they make mistakes, they regret, they love, they lose, they cry. And, though they shared their deepest and darkest secrets and flaws in this book (which would have taken a lot of guts), it just made me fall even more in love with them.

They gave, and still give, me strength to tackle my own demons and come out on top.

Now, on the tail end of 2016, they haven’t released new music as McFly for a while, but they are by no means done. They are pursuing other avenues, and killing it. From what I can gather, Tom is busy being a Dad to two beautiful boys, he’s on YouTube, writing children’s novels, and musical adaptations of those novels. Danny is happily married to Georgia Horsley, and writing for some of the big named bands, he’s also a new judge on the UK Voice Kids. Harry is happily married to Izzie Johnston, and he has an adorable little daughter named Lola. And Dougie is in LA pursuing an acting career.

It warms my heart that these boys, thrown together at the start, have formed such a beautiful and unbreakable bond. Though, their sole goal may not be to release new music, they have said that they aren’t done being a band.

So, if you’re feeling down, go and listen to them. I certainly will be. And mark my words, I’ll be chanting this:

Another year over, and we’re still together
It’s not always easy, but I’m here forever

– ‘The Heart Never Lies’, McFly

I’ll see you Saturday, lovelies!

Don’t forget to follow me on social media:

Leave a Reply

