Make Your Voice Heard

“Could you keep it down?” my brother bashes on my bedroom door.

My eyes roll back in my head. Now I have to start again.

“You idiot!” I yell toward the door, “you just completely ruined my one take recording!”

“You’ll get over it!”

I’ve been trying to perfect ‘Say You Won’t Let Go’ by James Arthur for weeks. The falsetto makes me pitchy. It’s hell. Of course when Jasper interrupted, the falsetto was going fantastically. Ugh.

“You’re never going to be famous anyway!” he added as an afterthought before retreating back to his own bedroom.

“GO AWAY!!” I screech even though I know he already has.

I’ve been uploading covers to YouTube for about 6 months. I love it. And in that time, I have accumulated 233 followers. It’s not a lot compared to some other musical youtubers, but it is still amazing to me.

My mum and bought me some great recording equipment like microphones, software and a camera for a combined Christmas and birthday present. It’s really nice knowing they support my dreams despite their reservations about the viability of this as a career. I guess I’ll just have to prove them wrong.

I stop the recording, delete it and start again.

“I met you in the dark, you lit me up

You made me feel as though I was enough”

I try to let the heartache leak and permeate through my voice and expression. I let the pain of the song ring around my room – let it transform from intangible to tangible.

I need this. I want this. This will be my life. This is what I dream.

Ignore Jasper. Ignore those who say I can’t. Use their words to fuel my fire.

I can do this.

***

A short one today!

See you Saturday! Don’t forget to follow me on social media!

Leave a Reply

