Why?

The world is a dark place. It’s been that way since the sun fell.

It was kind of beautiful, to be honest. One minute it’s in the sky, beating down and breaking millions of people out in the most horrendous of sweats, and the next, it’s descending from the sky in the middle of the day.

Everyone says that the scientists should have predicted it … but they didn’t or, at least, didn’t tell anyone that they did predict it. But, really, how sick do you have to be to know about something like that and not tell anyone. That’s not a conspiracy theory, that’s a worldwide genocide.

So instead of taking preventative measures (if there is a method of prevention for the sun falling), we are now living in darkness whilst every engineer in the world figures out a way for the world to thrive without the sun.

It’s been four days.

Everyone is carrying on as if this is all going to be fine – like the power’s gone out and all we have to do is wait for it to come back on. My parents are going to work in, what’s supposed to be, the morning and staying there the whole day even though it’s pitch black and they have to work under buzzing lights.

It’s bleak.

School called the house about five minutes ago. Apparently, I’m still expected to go. I didn’t pick up, I just listened to the principal drone on and on about expectations of students at “our fine academy” and that my parents should call the school to organise a “disciplinary plan” for their daughter. UGH..

I roll my eyes at the answering machine again, and delete the message.

I stopped being a daughter six months ago – before all of the sun shit happened. But, still, the teachers at my school can’t get it right. That’s what I’m most annoyed about from the message. In an age that’s supposed to be “accepting” of all identities, and from a school that has it written in their vision and mission, I shouldn’t have to explain myself to people. When I say that I am male, I should be male. I shouldn’t be asked why I “made that choice” – because it’s not a choice. I may still have some of my feminine features, but that doesn’t make me any less male.

And then the sun fell and I thought that trivial issues, like my transgender status, would be forgotten. But even in the darkness, they find a way to promote their rejection of my true self. As I said before, UGH..

I thought that something drastic like the sun falling would transform what people focus on. But it’s like they don’t care that the would could be days away from ending. They have blind faith in a group of people who, let’s face it, have no idea what they are doing. It’s not like they’ve had to build a sun simulation machine before. We had the real thing. It worked well. And then the sun just gave up – got fed up of watching people destroy the world they were given.

So instead, the people of the world, continue to focus on the same petty things – things that are none of their business, things that they don’t understand. And people that were struggling to show who they are, are still struggling.

But, let me ask you this, what’s the point? Why make somebody feel bad about who they are, who they have no choice of being, when there are more important things that need focusing on?

Why?

***

That’s it for today, folks! I’ll see you Tuesday! xx

Follow me on social media:


Twitter



Facebook



RSS


Leave a Reply

