Q is for Quotes

I’m a fan of quotes. I like that one sentence can sum up someone’s view, someone’s mindset at one particular moment in time.

I just find it interesting that something as powerful as a sentence, orated or written, usually by a person we have never met before, can motivate us, inspire us, speak to us, on a level that an ordinary conversational sentence cannot.

One of my favourite quotes comes from Atlas Shrugged by Ayn Rand:

Do not let your fire go out, spark by irreplaceable spark in the hopeless swamps of the not-quite, the not-yet, and the not-at-all. Do not let the hero in your soul perish in lonely frustration for the life you deserved and have never been able to reach. The world you desire can be won. It exists.. it is real.. it is possible.. it’s yours.

This quote has been with me for a while. It reminds me not to lose faith – in me, in my writing, in my ability to write. It reminds me that people there are people out there that aren’t going to believe in me, or that I can make something of this, but that writing is the fire that burns within me, and I shouldn’t let others try to put my fire out. It reminds me that, though there are days that are frustrating and full of disillusionment, it doesn’t mean that all hope is lost. I need to have faith and determination.

Another quote I found recently comes from Outlander by Diana Gabaldon:

Because to step outside the group, let alone stand against it, was for uncounted thousands of years death to the creature who dared it.

This quote I like because, to me, it sums up one of society’s flaws. Outwardly, we promote individuality and how important it is to show the world who we are individuals. But as soon as someone steps out from crowd, whether that be with their opinion or their identity, they are judged because they are different from what society deems as normal. We must be individual, but we must assimilate.

The next quote I was reintroduced to is one from Reality Bites said by character Troy Dyer (played by Ethan Hawke):

Honey, all you have to be by the age of 23, is yourself …

I found this quote again when I was the age of 23. I am now 24, but I think that it still applies. In fact, I would argue that it applies to all ages. You don’t have to be a doctor, you don’t have to be a mother. All you are obligated to be, throughout your entire life, is yourself.

Have a think about which quotes have spoke to you. What are they? Why do you like them? Did they help you understand yourself better, or understand the world around you better?

***

See you Tuesday!

xxx

Follow me!

One thought on “Q is for Quotes

  1. Great read! Thanks for your inspiration xx

    There are many quotes that continue to inspire me also, to move through life with hope in my heart and trust in my soul.

    Such as:
    “Wherever you go; there you are”.
    This quote reminds me that no matter where I go, I can’t escape – through running away – from whatever life experience is going on. Because it’s all happening inside me. It reminds me to welcome my feelings and experiences as though there are simply visitors. Because they are. And they have come with gifts that help me understand myself better. To love myself more. And to practice the idea that ‘Heaven is THIS moment. Hell is the burning desire for it to be different’ (Jeff Foster). These two quotes alone, have induced a deep sense of peace within me, that allows me to live a beautiful life – even when I’m traumatized, deeply depressed or struggling with terrifying anxiety. They remind me that life is not meant to be lived in a state of euphoric happiness. There is such beauty in contrast….and ‘allowance’ of ‘what is’, is an act of deep self love because it brings us right to the place where our biggest wish in life, lives:

    Peace.

    I fucking love it!

    Life is good.
    Love yourself silly!!!!

    Thanks again for your inspiration, Sarah xx

Leave a Reply

