Dear Inspiration

Dear Inspiration,

I find it hard to reach you sometimes. It’s like the phone is off the hook, or you’re screening calls. Sometimes I wait on the line for hours, just waiting for you to notice.

I have had so much advice when it comes to dealing with you. Some say to wait – wait until the moment is right and you are at your optimum communication level. Others say to power through, to show you who’s boss – to never take no for an answer.

You see, when you are here, it’s awesome. I feel invincible and worthy of your time. You make me feel like I can do this. You make me feel that I have talent. You make me feel loved.

But when you’re gone, there’s this hole where you should be. And it’s not like you’re gone for a moment, a minute, an hour; you’re gone for days; like “bye guys, going to Puerto Rico! Send you a postcard!” Why would you leave me when what we had was so good? Am I just the mistress to a much stronger marriage you have elsewhere?

Sometimes you come in the form of a quote or a phrase or even a question.

Today: “How bad do you want it?”

Sometimes you come in the form of a scenario or a circumstance.

There are constant reminders of you everywhere and in everything that I do.

I can’t get you out of my head.

I can’t get away from you.

I don’t want to.

So the next time you go away, don’t make me wait long.

Because I can’t live without you.

Leave a Reply

