Dear Nanna

Dear Nanna,

You’re my hero. That’s it, in it’s simplest form.

Every day you inspire me. You seem to withstand anything life that life throws at you. Not only do you stand without a scratch, but you seem so grow from it.

I feel like I flounder.
I feel like I fall.
You have fortitude.
And you stand tall.

I remember, when I was little, the afternoons we would spend together. I would come home from school and you would watch the old Elvis movies on TV whilst you prepared dinner. I didn’t really like those films – I didn’t understand them – but I ended up liking them because it was time for only us.

That was nearly twenty years ago.

You’re ninety-one today. You’ve lived through so much. Three different countries, eight children, a life filled with stress, busyness, love and fulfilment.

You are always willing to lend a helping hand. And, though you would disagree with me, you are still the most wonderful cook. There’s always a feast at nanna’s house.

We love to spend time with you, and talk ’til it’s time for bed. But sometimes it’s nice to just sit and be – to leave things left unsaid.

I know I speak for every one when I say:

We adore you. Top to bottom. Inside and out. Every atom that unites to form you.

I’m wishing you the happiest of birthdays, my sweet Nanna. You inspire me every day.

Love one of your many granddaughters, who reveres every word you say.

xxxxxx

***

Follow me on social media for updates:


Twitter



Facebook



RSS


Leave a Reply

