Review: ‘Lola and the Boy Next Door’

I am not pretending that this isn’t a cheat’s post. I know it is. But I haven’t had the time to write a proper one today. I apologise. But I thought that I would give you a review of one of the books that I have read recently.

Title: Lola and the Boy Next Door
Author: Stephanie Perkins

This book is the second in the Anna and the French Kiss series. It’s young adult, it’s easy to read, and it’s a feel-good book.

When I first started reading this book, I was sceptical. I had loved the first one, and I was wary that this one would fall short of my expectations. But I was surprised. I ended up loving it.

Lola is the girl who dresses strangely. She wears bright wigs and clothes to express herself, and she has a flare for it. She’s always dreamed of walking into her school dance in a dress that Marie Antoinette would swoon over. She has an older rockstar boyfriend and, apart from her dads not approving of her choice of boyfriend, her life is pretty ok.

Cricket lives next door. He’s spent his entire life living under his twin sister’s wing. He’s always loved Lola from afar. When he moves back to town, he thinks it’s a sign to finally make his move, but the one thing he doesn’t account for is the possibility of Lola already being taken.

This story is heart-warming and heartfelt. It left me wanting more, and desperately wanting Cricket and Lola to finally get together (what can I say? I’m a softie). If you love a good, innocent love story in Young Adult form, definitely give this one a shot. It’s worth it. Trust me.

***

Follow me of social media!

Leave a Reply

